Any beaders/jewelers on this board - newbie here

vanyel

Mouseketeer<br><font color=db28a5>I like to escape
Hi all,

I'm not new to the dis but new to this board. My home on the dis is the budget board. I've reading all the scrapping threads and thinking about trying it but for now I've just started working w/beads and making jewelry. My dd got me started and now I can't stop. It's addictive!

My question - anyone else on this board into this hobby and would you like to share tips, favorite websites, suppliers, pictures etc? I haven't taken any pictures yet but plan to.

I had an order ready to go at firemountaingems.com but found some really beautiful pieces at a local bead shop, then found some of the same products at Michaels. Spent way too much today on beads!

I'm a beader! Started out making jewelry but found my niche making hand beaded dog collars.

I'm a big fan of Firemountain Gems - their prices can't be beat. But, if you are looking for a good selection of seed beads, Fusionbeads.com can't be beat for price and selection.

I also spend way too much money at Michaels plus I occasionally find some worthwhile glass beads at Walmart of all places for a good price.

Probably one of my favorite ways of getting unusual beads though is to go to yard sales and thrift stores/flea markets and raid old jewelry for beads

Glad to see another beader on board! If you get a chance, post some pictures of your work!

vanyel said:
Hi all,

I'm not new to the dis but new to this board. My home on the dis is the budget board. I've reading all the scrapping threads and thinking about trying it but for now I've just started working w/beads and making jewelry. My dd got me started and now I can't stop. It's addictive!

My question - anyone else on this board into this hobby and would you like to share tips, favorite websites, suppliers, pictures etc? I haven't taken any pictures yet but plan to.