Decided NOT to buy DVC

senorak

Earning My Ears
Thanks to all who offered into re: DVC....but after much research; we decided it was not the way to go for us. Yes, we love Disney....but the high cost of buying (even resales) and the exhorbitant maintenance fees, along with only a 40 year "deed" just turned us off. With 5 of us, we would need to use points towards a 2BR villa...and with me being a teacher, I am limited to travel during the high seasons of summer and/or holiday time. It just didn't add up for us.

We currently own a TS in the Poconos and are looking to buy another (probably in SoCA) and from the research, can find a 2BR one with extremely high trading power for a fraction of what the DVC would cost (and has low maintenance fees and is deeded forever). Yes, I know we won't be able to trade "in park"; but for the cost difference, being outside the park isn't too bad. Plus, we could always snag a great discount on hotel to stay in park for a few nights.

I love the concept of the DVC...and the travel options were wonderful. ANd yes, it would be great to have a villa in WDW...but for us, the cost involved was just too high. But thanks to all for the input. You helped me make an informed decision.

DEB

That's what these boards are all about. I hope you enjoy your vacations, wherever they are, because that is what life is all about, isn't it? Enjoyment, every single minute of it.

I have decided not to purchase either. The value is not there for a purchaser in DVC I.

Oh well.

Hope DVC is happy with their new stratagy! I have never seen people backing out of DVC sighting lack of value before. Its interesting the first poster talks about the flexibility that the program offers, however, the second poster is aware of the new point structure comming out and is running away as fast as he can. Can't say I blame him and I can not defend DVC on this . I am still waiting to wake up from a bad dream . Say it isn't so.