Early fall road trip. Where to?

Frwinkley

DIS Veteran
I'm an elementary school teacher retiring in a little over 2 months. This will be our first year taking a vacation when we want. I'm looking to plan something for early fall with maybe a 2 week maxium. We really enjoy flying into a city and then exploring from there. I'd like to be able to stay at least 2 nights in one location (3 would be even better). With stops, I'd like to limit the driving amount to about 8 hours each day.

We love the outdoors, are avid photographers and enjoy hiking. At the same time, we like walkable towns with restaurants, coffee shop, etc. Having grown up on the east coast, I'm less interested in that area of the country.

We've already done the following from Denver (on 2 separate trips during the summer):
Tellruride, Durango
The 5 Utah National Parks.

From Phoenix, we've done Sedona and the Grand Canyon.

From Las Vegas, we've done Yosemite, driven to Lake Tahoe, onto San Francisco and have flown back home from there (We are in Pittsburgh).

We've also done the Canadian Rockies flying in and out of Calgary.

We've also done Montreal, Ottawa and Quebec City as a driving trip directly from Pittsburgh. Canada is especially easy to get to from where we live and we might be interested in exploring parts beyond Toronto.

This past summer we did Seattle, Vancouver and Victoria.

On my radar are the following:
Yellowstone, Grand Teton
Glacier National Park
The Dakotas, including the Badland and Mt. Rushmore.

I'd love to hear any suggestions!

Thanks very much.

We did Yellowstone, Grand Teton, AND Glacier in one 11 day trip. Fly into Jackson Hole and rent a car, then leave it when you fly out of Kalispell. It was a wonderful trip, if you want more specifics let me know.

We did Yellowstone, Grand Teton, AND Glacier in one 11 day trip. Fly into Jackson Hole and rent a car, then leave it when you fly out of Kalispell. It was a wonderful trip, if you want more specifics let me know.