"It's the economy, stupid"

disneyplanningdad

Mouseketeer
This week really has me thinking about whether my plan for a $5000 vacation next May is a good idea. Anybody else worried about the economy?

Worried, I work in the financial world, I am wondering if eating ramon noodles is in order.:lmao:

It depends on what one does for a living. The medical field won't see much of a downturn. I doubt education-related employment will either. I would think most of the damage will be where most of the bubble occurred: real estate and financial markets. With other industries being affected around the edges.

Bob

Yes a little bit. DH has a secure job as a corrections officer. When one inmate leaves there are 10 more to replace them. I work in the medical field and my job is pretty secure...unless universal healthcare comes rolling in but that's a whole other thread!

But I'm still worried a little. Our vacation is costing us $3000 just for hotel, park tickets and DDP. But we are driving......in March......from NJ. I'm a little worried but DH said we ARE going. We have to go for a wedding anyway. :scared:

Our trip is in 7 weeks and instead of being filled with excitement and anticipation I am worrying and stressed constantly! First, did not get the bonus we usually get in the summer (not that much, but it sure would have helped), then the price of electric bills this summer :scared1: , food increases, etc., I have never felt this concerned before financially. Airline and tickets and house (rented) already paid for so no turning back. Not that I want to, but just wish I could relax a little bit.
Still going to try to have a great time and will figure the rest out when we get back. My mom is 82 and I REALLY wanted her to go this year. Physically, I do not know how many more trips she will be able to do, as it is she is in a wheelchair, but right now can still enjoy herself and I want to make that happen! Hopefully, things will get better for all :wizard: !