School Holidays/Breaks

I'm in Surrey BC and our school board releases their calendars well in advance. The 2020-2021 calendar has been out for over a year now. We always go back to school AFTER Labour day here in BC. That sucks for everyone whose calendars have been changed around :(

Oh. They're moving those PA days to the end of summer instead of through the year. Great for parents, not great for teachers. But that does help with people who have booked vacations.
I'll say. If I was a teacher in Peel I would be pretty upset. Two of those PA days are report writing days, so that means that all of the report writing this year will have to be done on personal time (assuming the teachers have a contract by next year).

Hmm. Am I a bad mom because we're taking 3 days around this year's spring break? My kids are grades 12 and 10 (younger writing the OSSLT after we return)? Heck, these teacher's strikes are already impacting the teaching times, but at least there haven't been any snow days this year.
I would be surprised if they write OSSLT anytime soon after the break. Not positive about OSSTF, but ETFO is certainly not administering any of the standardized testing in the Elementary system. There should still be lots of time to prepare for the testing as the job action is not likely to be resolved before the break. However, (IMO) losing days for grade 11 and 12 students is never a good thing as those marks are so crucial to post secondary placements.

ETA: not implying bad mom. You know your kids better than anyone. I might have taken days with my DS when he was in those grades. With his health issues he always missed a lot of school but was a champ at staying caught up and always maintained excellent grades. Actually, he's in the final year of Engineering and STILL maintains an excellent GPA. OTOH my DD needed every bit of class time to keep her marks up and would not have been a good candidate for extra days off for vacation.