• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

Venting about school policy on Disney trip absences!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

walllo

Earning My Ears
I just got off the phone with my kid's principal about our Disney vacation next week. We will miss school three days. My kids are in the 4th and kindergarten and she said that because their absences were unexcused the highest grade they could make on any homework during that time would be a 70. She said that Disney was not considered educational. That is absurd to me. Obviously, she has never been and does not know what Disney has to offer. I am a teacher as well, so I know the importance of attendance and completing work and all. I didn't argue with her because I'm not good at that and I probably can't change her mind. Maybe I should of explained what all is at Disney. I know some of you have encountered this, how did you handle it? By the way, my kids are good students so their grades will only be mildly hurt. It's just that it irks me that she thinks it's not educational.
Thanks for letting me vent.
:mad: :mad:

Ask their individual teachers if there is 'extra' credit work they can do. A report on a country in EPCOT for social studies? Report on the Magic of Disney in MGM for art. I know there can be others. Keeping a detailed journal? As you probably know some teachers can think of 'creative' ways to turn the trip into a homework grade. It doesn't hurt to ask.

When we went on the 7 day cruise last year DD missed 4 days of school. I explained to the teacher where we were going and asked for any additional work. She had DD then 2nd grade to do a report on birds native to the carribean. She had to chart the weather at home and in the carribean then compare. She also had to keep a journal during the trip.