Which place would be best for both adults and kids?

alysha

Earning My Ears
Hi all. This is my first time posting on this board. I hope to be visiting here quite a bit in the next few months.

We are planning a trip to WDW (hope I get all the abbreviations correct!) for March 2002. We are now trying to decide where to stay. Budget is a big consideration. We will be traveling with 2 other adults and a total of 4 kids - ages 2, 4, 5, and 7.

We are trying to decide between two hotels that looked promising. One would be the ASM - this looked like a great one for the kids and at $109/night, very reasonable. The other would be Doubletree Guest Suites in DD. The reason we are considering suites is so that the adults would have a place to retreat after the kiddos are in bed.

I just can't decide - having a suite would be great and I've heard that the All-Star rooms are a bit small. But I like the idea of staying onsite and staying at a place that looks like so much fun for the kids.

Are there any big disadvantages in staying offsite? How is the transportation from the DD hotels? I've heard that it's actually better to go to DD and take Disney transportation rather than using the hotel transportation.

Any insights? Anything help would be greatly appreciated!